Our History

Institute of Health Sciences started a master’s degree in the spring semester of the 1987-1988 academic year and doctoral studies in the fall semester of the 1990-1991 academic yaer in Trakya University. Prof Dr. Ergun Göney who served in the Institute between the years of 01.12.1987 and 01.06.1988 is the founding director of the Institute of Health Sciences.

In the establishment of the Institute, Pharmacology, Morphology, Physiology, Microbiology, Biochemistry, Medical Ethics and History of Medicine were included as the main departments, and also the science branches of Anatomy, Histology and Embryology took place under the Department of Mophology. After 1992 these branches of science have been changed into separate departments within the Faculty of Medicine but the common name of Morphology has been saved in the structure of the Instutute. Our Institute has developed quickly. As of today, 24 graduate education programs have been carried out in 16 main departments and 2 branches of science in the Institute of Health Sciences. 

This content was issued on 20.02.2014 and has been viewed for 1343 times.